Lampros

Academic Qualifications

European School of Brussels (1993-2003)

European Baccalaureate Overall mark: 83%

Physics: 98%

Mathematics 90%

English 86%

French 85%

 

Imperial College London (2003-2007)

MSci in Physics with Theoretical Physics

 

Imperial College London (2009-2013)

PhD in Physics (Theory and Simulation of Materials)

 

Teaching Experience

Love Learning Tutors: 2017 to date

Common Entrance: 11+, 13+ Science and Mathematics

GCSE: Physics, Chemistry

A-Level: Physics, Mathematics, Further Mathematics, Statistics, Mechanics

I have been tutoring school students in Physics and Mathematics since I started teaching, with very good feedback. I aim to identify the students’ needs as soon as possible, so as to make tutoring productive and useful.

Walworth Academy - Science and Maths teacher

William Morris 6th Form- Physics Teacher

Latymer Upper School - Physics and Maths teacher

I have been teaching Physics and Mathematics in Secondary and Sixth Form education in the last 3 and a half years. I have also had experience tutoring, either in small groups, or on a one-to-one basis since 2008. I have had experience teaching OCR, Edexcel, AQA specifications for Physics, OCR and Edexcel for Mathematics and I am constantly expanding my scope by studying and analysing assessments of other boards and qualifications, such as IB, Pre-U and International A-level.

 

Skills and Interests

I have a variety of academic and non-academic interests. I consider Physics and Mathematics both a profession and a hobby. I enjoy puzzles and difficult problems, and always like to keep myself busy with something relating to Physics and/or Mathematics. I am also currently studying for a BSc degree in Pure Mathematics through Open University. I love reading anything from philosophy, classic literature or science fiction, and of course scientific and mathematical literature. I also speak French fluently and Spanish at elementary level.

On the physical activity front, I like weight lifting, with a focus on powerlifting. It is a tough sport which requires discipline and mental strength; character traits which I try to exhibit in everything I do.

I enjoy a very wide range of music genres: classical, jazz, blues, metal, rock, electronic, to name just a few. I play the piano and the bouzouki, a Greek traditional chorded instrument and have also been involved in DJing in the past.

 

Personal Statement

I studied Physics with Theoretical Physics in Imperial College London and then completed a PhD in Theory and Simulation of Materials, also at Imperial College London.

Since I was a school student, I always paid very close attention to details and strove to obtain full understanding of concepts in Physics and Mathematics. This has shaped my teaching style to be oriented towards real and deep understanding, rather than giving students a set of mechanistic procedures.

At the same time, I am fully aware of the importance of grades and I believe teachers and tutors should prepare students for assessments by addressing exam technique when necessary. I have experience with OCR, Edexcel, AQA, Pre-U and IB for both Physics and Mathematics, and rigorously analyse assessments and past papers to aid students in achieving the best grades possible.

I have been working as a teacher of Physics and Mathematics since September 2014, and have a broad range of experiences, both in the state and the independent sector. Since 2009 I have been involved in tutoring first year University students in Mathematics, as well as school students in Physics and Mathematics. I am very enthusiastic about the subjects, something that I always share with my students.

I have made the decision to transition from teaching to full-time private tutoring as I believe I can have a greater impact in helping students make progress and that it would therefore be a more rewarding experience. I have been tutoring I have I see private tuition as an opportunity for the students to obtain deep understanding of concepts by asking questions and spending time on the important details and techniques required for the subject. I plan my lessons extremely thoroughly and always adapt to the student’s needs, addressing them as soon as they are identified, in order to allow them to make the most rapid progress possible.