Alice

Academic Qualifications

CENTRE INTERNATIONAL DE VALBONNE (CIV)
French Brevet des Écoles, Mention Très Bien
Mathematics (40/40), French (34.5/40), History-Geography (33.5/40), English (33/40)

SEVENOAKS SCHOOL
Bilingual International Baccalaureate Diploma, 41 points
Higher Level: History (6), French A2 (7), English A1 (6), Russian B (6) Standard Level: Mathematics (6), Biology (7)
Theory of Knowledge (A), Extended Essay (A)

UNIVERSITY COLLEGE LONDON (UCL)
BA Linguistics, 2.1
Modules in Syntax, Phonetics, Phonology, Semantics, Pragmatics, Children’s Language Development Dissertation (1st) topic: Theory of Mind in Deaf Children

GDL (Graduate Diploma in Law) starting in October 2017.

 

Teaching Experience

LOVE LEARNING TUTORS 

Common Entrance: 11+, 13+, 16+
GCSE: French, English, History, Law
A-Level: French, English

MARION RICHARDSON PRIMARY SCHOOL: 06/03/17 to 07/06/17
Special Education Needs Teaching Assistant (SENTA)
I provided 1:1 support to a Year 3 student with Down Syndrome on a daily basis in a mainstream inclusive school, with a focus on numeracy and literacy but also a range of SEN interventions.

 

Skills and Interests

I love all sports. When I was younger I played tennis and basketball. At university I played a lot of volleyball and became the First Team Captain and the following year I was the President of the university’s sports club. Recently I have taken immense pleasure in running and playing squash.

Outside of sports I am passionate about languages. Growing up in a bilingual household and attending a range of schools, I am a native speaker of French and English. I am fluent in Spanish, proficient in Russian and have very good notions of German, Italian and British Sign Language.

Several years ago I spent some time in the bush in South Africa and I am a qualified Nature guide. I worked in a lodge taking guests on safari drives and walks one summer. The occasional run-ins with some of the Big 5 animals were simply incredible.

I used to play the piano, dance, and play the guitar. I now occasionally play the ukulele. I also love scouting places that have beautiful stained glass windows.

 

Work Experience

08/2017: Internship at Burke Niazi, a law firm that specialises in Family Law and Mental Health Law

06/2017: Internship at Dawson Cornwell, a law firm that specialises in International Family and Children Law

03/2017-06/2017: Special Education Needs Teaching Assistant at a London primary school

03/2017-07/2017: Part-time Club Assistant at the Cumberland Lawn Tennis Club 01/2017-

04/2017: Freelance Linguistic Specialist, proofreading and translating subtitles 09/2016-

12/2016: Sales Assistant at Ortigia in Florence, Italy

09/2016-12/2016: Substitute Primary School Teacher at the International School of Florence In my summers between university I also worked in events, I did an internship at the Nelson

Mandela’s Children Fund UK, I worked in the bush as a guide and I was a UCL Open Day Steward. References: Available on request from Love Learning Tutors

 

Personal Statement

My best and favourite teachers were those that managed to strike a balance between fostering a love of learning as well as guiding us on how to understand and respond well to exam formats. As a student I was always frustrated if the focus was too acute on only one aspect. I also found that when I was inspired or excited by a subject, I naturally performed better in it anyway and I observed this phenomenon in my peers too. My first experience of tutoring was when I was asked to tutor a nine-year old girl in Mathematics when I was still fourteen myself. I found it so rewarding and learned a lot myself. I was initially interested in a career in speech and language therapy and a lot of my voluntary and paid experience in that field involved developing a real sensitivity to the children’s strengths and weaknesses. It also required constant positive encouragement and feedback. I strongly believe that my ability to speak different languages has enhanced my ability to understand how to approach a situation from different perspectives. I strongly believe that to do well in any subject, a little inspiration is needed to kickstart the process and that real-world examples and excerpts can make a subject relatable which can make all the difference. I am passionate about language and learning languages and I cannot wait to teach!